10 comments on “Fake News

  1. I don’t care who else you faux-quote but please do not disrespect Marcus Aurelius. And misquoting while giving the wrong spelling of his name doesn’t count as not misquoting him. A Marcus Aurelis somewhere sometime MIGHT have said what you quoted but come on, we both know his opinions are well worth reading and learning from which may not apply to the newscaster who lied about his experiences in war.
    But then, people who read and who have read for most of their lives and process what they read and retain enough that they DO know the real from the false.

    May I leave you with a real quote which I appreciate?

    “Live a good life. If there are gods and they are just, then they will not care how devout you have been, but will welcome you based on the virtues you have lived by. If there are gods, but unjust, then you should not want to worship them. If there are no gods, then you will be gone, but will have lived a noble life that will live on in the memories of your loved ones”

    I hope you’ve made other think about other quotes from other real people as well.

    • I don’t quote anyone in my piece. I speak for myself, and you can quote me on that.
      I illustrate my writing with an odd collection of images I find online. I appreciate your feelings for the wise Roman emperor. The quote is correct, and appropriate. Thanks for noticing the misspelled name. I replaced the offending meme with a meme that spelled his name correctly. Satisfied?
      BTW Reading is an escape from reality, not the key to it.

  2. As I posted recently on Faceschnook, fake news is nothing new to me. I’ve been reading it and hearing it all of my life on Earth. Fake news about Korea, the Rosenbergs . Fake news about Vietnam, the Black Panthers, Iraq, assassinations, 9/11 etc. etc. It leads to fake history, which is just as rampant and dangerous.

    • I’m told that near the origin of of printed newspapers, some of the newspapers would print fake headlines/stories in order to sell more papers. After a while, they realized the fake stories were ruining their credibility. So they stopped doing it (so blatantly anyway). Not a new problem at all.

    • Fake history, combined with fake news creates a mythological culture that exists only in the media. That’s why nothing we read any more makes sense in the context of real life.

Leave a Reply

