15 comments on “So Long, Old People

    • Well then, they should shut the hell up about the poor kids trying to find a place to get out of the heat, camp and use the bathroom.
      In NY everyone rents. Around here, unless you own land, they treat you like you don’t have the right to exist.

  1. I love it… harshness and all! It reminded me of a song I heard a while ago that I can’t remember well but had a line “We are the cleaning crew for a party we weren’t old enough to attend” or something along those lines… I know that was not totally your point but there is some validity or so feels my age group.

    (I looked up the song… It is Goodness Gracious by Kevin Gilbert)

  2. Thanks Sarah! I once heard “education” defined as the process of explaining our current situation to our children while somehow minimizing their parents responsibility for it.
    I did enjoy treating the older generation with the same disdain that Loreen Eliason unloaded on the young. I guess the generation gap is alive and well

  3. Pingback: Make It Happen, Right Now! « Like You've Got Something Better To Do

  4. Pingback: My 100th Post, and First Apology « Like You've Got Something Better To Do

  5. Pingback: The Importance of Not Caring in a Relationship « Like You've Got Something Better To Do

  6. Never thought of myself as “old” or guilty of ruining the planet, but thank you for shareing your thoughts on the matter. Myself, I blame our present conditions, (basic needs being out of reach for so many people) on Greed. The “haves” would just as soon let a building or home sit and rot than offer the shelter to a have-not. It is Greed.

    • Yes, I agree that greed is the problem, and that it is entirely too pervasive, especially among those people lucky enough to have lived through the pinnacle of American consumer culture. For them, insatiable greed is the only way of life they know, and rather than take responsibility for the damage they’ve done, they take advantage of the young and future generations, by continuing their unsustainable lifestyle into retirement, providing nothing for the future except a shameful example of how NOT to live sustainable on planet Earth.

  7. Thanks Sarah! I once heard “education” defined as the process of explaining our current situation to our children while somehow minimizing their parents responsibility for it.

Leave a Reply

